Magnet® Status Hospital Recognition

Magnet® Status Hospital Recognition

The American Nurses Credentialing Center, a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association and the largest and most prominent nursing credentialing organization in the United States, established Magnet® recognition in 1994. Research has shown that patient care outcomes are better at Magnet® hospitals, where there is an environment that empowers nurses, values their contributions and supports nursing leadership. Magnet® status is awarded for a four-year period, after which hospitals must apply again for the recognition.

Who We Are (Cleveland Clinic Main Campus)

Cleveland Clinic main campus has been recognized as a Magnet® organization since 2003. Cleveland Clinic main campus is a 1400-bed quaternary referral hospital located in Northeast Ohio. It includes 19 family health centers as well as 3 free-standing emergency departments. Main campus not only serves the needs of Northeast Ohio, but the needs of patients from over 185 countries. We offer 100+ specialties including heart, lung, liver, kidney, pancreas, and bone marrow transplantation as well as a children’s rehabilitation hospital. As part of The Stanley Zielony Institute for Nursing Excellence, our nurses support the institutes mission, vision and values, while utilizing the Zielony Professional Practice Model, to meet the needs of our patient population.

Additionally, these ten hospitals within the Cleveland Clinic health system have also achieved Magnet® Status:

Fairview Hospital achieved its designation in 2009, Cleveland Clinic Akron General in 2013, Hillcrest Hospital in 2014, South Pointe Hospital in 2017, Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi in 2019, Marymount Hospital and Lutheran Hospital in 2021, Euclid Hospital and Avon Hospital in 2022 and Medina Hospital in 2023.

This involved the review of hundreds of pages of documentation, and a four to five-day site visit by ANCC professionals who evaluated Cleveland Clinic against more than 65 stringent quantitative and qualitative standards that epitomize excellence in nursing services, clinical outcomes and patient care delivery. Cleveland Clinic must continue to pass bi-annual reviews as part of its four-year designation.

What Does it Take to Achieve Magnet® Status?


Magnet® hospitals exemplify the 14 forces of magnetism established by the American Nurses Credentialing Center by demonstrating:

  • A high-quality care environment
  • Clinical autonomy and responsibility
  • Participatory decision-making
  • Strong nurse leaders
  • Two-way communication with staff
  • Community involvement
  • Opportunity and encouragement for professional development
  • Effective use of staff and resources
  • High levels of job satisfaction (directly affects patient satisfaction)
  • Attention to cultural and ethnic diversity

Magnet® Status is the highest national recognition awarded to a hospital or medical center for excellence in nursing. It is accepted nationally as the gold standard of patient care and provides healthcare consumers with a benchmark to measure quality of nursing care.

What Does Magnet® Status Mean?

The Difference in Being a Magnet® Hospital

Independent research shows that Magnet® facilities consistently outperform non-Magnet® facilities by demonstrating:

For Patients

  • Lower mortality rates
  • Shorter lengths of stay
  • Increased stability in care and positive outcomes
  • Increased satisfaction and confidence levels

For Nurses

  • Higher rates of job satisfaction
  • More appropriate RN mix
  • Better delivery of quality care
  • Autonomy in clinical practice
  • Lower incidence of needlestick injury

For Hospitals

  • Increased retention and recruitment of nurses
  • Collaborative work environment
  • Lower rates of staff nurse turnover
  • Increased attraction of high-caliber nurses, physicians and specialists
Journey to Magnet Excellence®

Journey to Magnet Excellence®

The following hospitals within the Cleveland Clinic health system are on the Journey to Magnet Excellence®:

What Does Journey to Magnet Excellence® Designation Mean?

Journey to Magnet Excellence Logo

Hospitals seeking to create and sustain a culture of excellence may embark on the Journey to Magnet Excellence®. The process involves a self-assessment of the organization’s performance against the Magnet® sources of evidence. During the process between self-assessment and site visit, the hospital has an opportunity to transform and embed their culture with the principles of nursing excellence.

What Does it Take to Achieve Journey to Magnet Excellence® Designation?

To achieve initial Magnet® recognition, organizations must pass a rigorous and lengthy process that demands widespread participation from leadership and staff. The process begins with the submission of an electronic application, followed by written documentation demonstrating qualitative and quantitative evidence regarding patient care and outcomes. If scores from the written documentation fall within a range of excellence, an on-site visit will occur to thoroughly assess the applicant. After this rigorous onsite review process, the Commission on Magnet® will review the completed appraisal report and vote to determine whether Magnet® recognition will be granted.

Journey to Pathway to Excellence®

Journey to Pathway to Excellence®

The American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC) Journey to Pathway to Excellence® designation is earned by healthcare organizations that create work environments where nurses can excel in their practice. The designation substantiates the professional satisfaction of nurses and identifies best places to work.

The following hospitals within the Cleveland Clinic health system is on the Journey to Pathway to Excellence®:

What Does Journey to Pathway to Excellence® Designation Mean?

Pathway to Excellence®

A Journey to Pathway to Excellence® designated organization is committed to nurses and to what nurses identify as a match with their values and contributions toward the overall pursuit of safe, quality patient care. This designation confirms to the public that nurses working in a Journey to Pathway to Excellence® designated organization know that their efforts are supported and invite other nurses to join their colleagues in this desirable and nurturing environment.

What Does it Take to Achieve Journey to Pathway to Excellence® Designation?

An organization earns the Journey to Pathway to Excellence® designation through a review process where it fully documents that the Practice Standards of the ideal practice environment are present in the organization's practices, policies, and culture. The Practice Standards are based upon expert nurse input and nursing literature that supports the qualities of a positive practice environment. After successful document review, nurses in the organization verify the presence of the Practice Standards in the organization through participation in a confidential online survey.