Institute Awards

Institute Awards

2017 Maria and Sam Miller Nursing Excellence Awards Ceremony

Across Cleveland Clinic hospitals, nurses are consistently the largest employee group. To recognize their invaluable contribution to patient care, we have a robust group of awards honoring those within our institution.

Do you know a nurse who:

  • Courageously inspires hope & touches the human spirit?
  • Exemplifies the highest standards of quality & patient safety?
  • Dedicates a career to exceptional patient care, mentoring or evidence-based practice?
  • Collaborates to promote teamwork & quality outcomes?

 Nursing Research Fund Award

The Purpose of the Nursing Research Fund (NURF) Award is to help Cleveland Clinic nurses, especially those providing clinical nursing services, conduct nursing research that promotes evidence-based nursing and management practices that lead to quality patient outcomes, enhanced nursing processes, and professional development.

Monies in the Fund are provided by patients and their families in recognition of nursing care received during hospitalizations. Additional contributions to the Fund are made from private donations and honorariums from nursing staff members for presentations and other professional work done in conjunction with their staff role.

Awards up to a maximum of $2,500/each aid registered nurses in conducting research and can be used to provide time to collect data, offset costs of supplies and equipment and statistical analysis, or to travel to a meeting to present findings. It is expected that research results will be shared within the Division of Nursing and to other departments, as appropriate and that generalizable results will be translated into nursing practice. A maximum of $15,000 in awards are presented annually.

National Awards

National Awards

Cleveland Clinic has a national reputation as a top hospital and our nurses play a vital role in this success. We are proud to present those nurses who have received national recognition for their contribution to our model of world-class care.

2018 National Award Winners

Meredith Foxx, MSN, MBA, APRN, PCNS-BC, PPCNP-BC, CPON, was selected as the 2018 Nurse Advocate by the Ohio American Association of Nurse Practitioners.

Nancy Albert, PhD, CCNS, CHFN, CCRN, NE-BC, FAHA, FCCM, FHFSA, FAAN, was awarded the 2018 Nursing Leadership Award for her contributions to improving the care of patients with advanced heart failure.

Kathleen Burns Mau, DNP, APRN, ACCNS-AG, ACNS-BC, CEN, was recognized as America’s Best Nurse by the American Health Council for her outstanding contributions to the nursing field.

2017 National Award Winners

Cleveland Clinic’s South Pointe Hospital achieved Magnet® status from the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

The Cleveland Clinic Stanley Shalom Zielony Institute for Nursing Excellence was awarded a Center of Excellence (COE) in Nursing Education designation by the National League for Nursing (NLN). This designation is given to schools of nursing and healthcare organizations that have attained levels of excellence in specific areas.

June Romeo, PhD, CNP, RN, FACC, was elected a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology (ACC). She is one of only two nurses in the past 65 years to receive this prestigious designation. 

Deborah Klein, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, CCRN, CHFN, received the Excellence in Clinical Practice Award from the American Heart Association.

Cleveland Clinic Florida’s Emergency Department was recognized with the Lantern Award by the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) for its commitment to quality, safety, a healthy work environment, and innovation in nursing practice and emergency care.

Previous Winners

Learn about our national award winners from previous years.

Award Categories

Award Categories

The Stanley Shalom Zielony institute for Nursing Excellence proudly honors its nurses for their outstanding achievements and dedicated commitment to the nursing profession annually though the Maria and Sam Miller Nursing Excellence Awards.

These awards are our organization’s most prestigious nursing honors. The nurses who receive these awards epitomize Cleveland Clinic’s values of quality, innovation, teamwork, service, integrity and compassion. Nominations are submitted by fellow caregivers and physician colleagues, patients and volunteers.

Below are the 2020 Award Categories: