Give Online: Help shape patient care for generations to come.
Cleveland Clinic Logo

Board of Governors

Cleveland Clinic’s Board of Governors has responsibility for standards of medical care and managing and administering the day-to-day medical and surgical activities of Cleveland Clinic, subject to policies established by Cleveland Clinic’s Board of Directors.

The Board of Governors also oversees the integration of research and education with other services provided by Cleveland Clinic, and, subject to the concurrence of the Board of Directors, is responsible for the appointment, promotion and termination of members of the Professional Staff in cooperation with Institute and Department Chairs.

The Board of Governors is chaired by the Chief Executive Officer and President and is comprised of physician leaders elected by their peers and certain officers and key administrative personnel. The Board of Governors annually recommends certain representatives of the Professional Staff for election to the Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees.

Members of the Board of Governors include:

Elected/Voting Members

* Senior Board of Governors members for 2015

Delos M. Cosgrove, MD

Chief Executive Officer and President
Chair of the Board of Governors

Delos Cosgrove, MD - Healthcare Trends on LinkedIn

Brian Donley, MD
Brian Donley, MD

Chief of Staff, Professional Staff Affairs
Vice Chair of the Board of Governors

Abby Abelson, MD*

Department Chair
Rheumatologic and Immunologic Disease

Wael Barsoum, MD
Wael Barsoum, MD
Interim President, Florida
Raed Dweik, MD*

Executive Director, Innovation Management & Conflict of Interest Program

Serpil Erzurum, MD

Pathobiology Department Chair

Carol Farver, MD
Carol Farver, MD

President, Medical Staff

Kathleen Franco, MD
Kathleen Franco, MD

Associate Dean of Admissions and Student Affairs at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine

James Gutierrez, MD
James Gutierrez, MD

Chairman,  Community Internal Medicine

J. Harry Isaacson, MD
J. Harry Isaacson, MD

Staff physician, General Internal Medicine
Executive Director, Professional Staff Leadership Development

Alan Kominsky, MD*

Head and Neck Institute Residency Program Director

Deborah Lonzer, MD*

Community Pediatrics Department Chair

Daniel F. Martin, MD

Ophthalmology Institute Chair

Margaret McKenzie, MD
Margaret McKenzie, MD

Section Head, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Michael Phillips, MD

Vice Chair for Research and Academics

Edmund Sabanegh, MD*
Edmund Sabanegh, MD

Department Chair, Urology

Timothy Spiro, MD
Timothy Spiro, MD

Regional Oncology Department Chair

Lisa Yerian, MD

Medical Director, Continuous Improvement in the Division of Medical Operations and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Institute, Cleveland Clinic.

Nizar Zein, MD
Nizar Zein, MD

Chair, Global Patient Services

Appointed Members

Robert W. Coulton, Jr.

Executive Director, Staff Affairs

Paul E. DiCorleto, PhD

Chair, Lerner Research Institute

Steven C. Glass

Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer

K. Kelly Hancock, MSN, RN, NE-BC

Executive Chief Nursing Officer

Cynthia Hundorfean

Chief Administrative Officer, Clinical Services

Atul Mehta, MD
Atul Mehta, MD

Pulmonary Medicine

Linda McHugh

Executive Administrator to Chief Executive Officer & Board of Governors

William M. Peacock III

Chief of Operations

David W. Rowan, Esq.

Chief Legal Officer, Chief Governance Officer & Secretary

James K. Stoller, MD, MS

Chair, Education Institute