Cleveland Clinic’s Board of Governors has responsibility for standards of medical care and managing and administering the day-to-day medical and surgical activities of Cleveland Clinic, subject to policies established by Cleveland Clinic’s Board of Directors.

The Board of Governors also oversees the integration of research and education with other services provided by Cleveland Clinic, and, subject to the concurrence of the Board of Directors, is responsible for the appointment, promotion and termination of members of the Professional Staff in cooperation with Institute and Department Chairs.

The Board of Governors is chaired by the Chief Executive Officer and President and is comprised of physician leaders elected by their peers and certain officers and key administrative personnel. The Board of Governors annually recommends certain representatives of the Professional Staff for election to the Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees.

Elected & Voting Members

Elected & Voting Members

Elected Voting Members of the Board of Governors include:

Tomislav Mihaljevic, MD Tomislav "Tom" Mihaljevic, MD
Chair of the Board of Governors
President and Chief Executive Officer, Cleveland Clinic
Herbert Wiedemann, MD Herbert Wiedemann, MD
Chief of Staff
Vice Chair of the Board of Governors
Wael Barsoum, MD Wael Barsoum, MD
CEO & President, Florida
Matthew Walsh Matthew Walsh
President, Medical Staff
Nancy Foldvary-Schaefer, DO Nancy Foldvary-Schaefer, DO


James Gutierrez, MD James Gutierrez, MD

J. Harry Isaacson, MD J. Harry Isaacson, MD
Margaret McKenzie, MD Margaret McKenzie, MD
Michael E. Anderson, MD Michael E. Anderson, MD
Mariana Berho, MD Mariana Berho, MD
Kendalle Cobb, MD Kendalle Cobb, MD
Betul Hatipoglu, MD Betul Hatipoglu, MD
Tracy Hull, MD Tracy Hull, MD
Charles, Modlin, MD Charles, Modlin, MD
William Morris, MD William Morris, MD
Leo Pozuelo, MD Leo Pozuelo, MD
Alice Rim, MD Alice Rim, MD
Rishi Singh, MD Rishi Singh, MD
Nicholas Smedira, MD Nicholas Smedira, MD
Appointed Members

Appointed Members

Appointed Members of the Board of Governors include:

Bradford Borden, MD Bradford Borden, MD
Institute Chair, Emergency Medicine;
Associate Chief of Staff, Professional Staff Affairs
Michael Donnelly | Cleveland Clinic Matthew Donnelly
Executive Director, Professional Staff Affairs
Corinne Ehretsman | Cleveland Clinic Corinne Ehretsman
System Executive Director of Clinical Operations
Serpil Erzurum, MD Serpil Erzurum, MD
Chair, Lerner Research Institute
Steven C. Glass Steven C. Glass
Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
K. Kelly Hancock, MSN, RN, NE-BC K. Kelly Hancock, MSN, RN, NE-BC
Executive Chief Nursing Officer
Robert Lorenz, MD, MBA Robert Lorenz, MD, MBA
President Elect, Medical Staff
William M. Peacock III
Chief of Operations
Susan Rehm, MD Susan Rehm, MD
Associate Chief of Staff, Professional Staff Affairs
David W. Rowan, Esq David W. Rowan, Esq.
Chief Legal Officer, Chief Governance Officer & Secretary
Edmund Sabanegh, MD Edmund Sabanegh, MD
Hospital President, Main Campus
James K. Stoller, MD James K. Stoller, MD, MS
Chair, Education Institute
James Young, MD James Young, MD
Chief Academic Officer