K. Kelly Hancock is Chief Caregiver Officer for Cleveland Clinic health system. She is responsible for leading the development and implementation of all aspects of caregiver engagement for Cleveland Clinic’s 70,000 caregivers. With a focus on enhancing the health system’s unique team-based culture, Dr. Hancock provides strategic direction and expertise for the organization’s human resources function, domestically and internationally. She consistently works to build and retain exceptional caregiver teams through the optimization of human resources policies and programs.

An innovative thought-leader, Dr. Hancock delivers advisory services in areas such as leadership, coaching, employee relations, talent acquisition, compensation, organizational design and change, performance management, learning and development, and more. She continuously collaborates with fellow executive leaders to ensure Cleveland Clinic caregivers embody the organization’s culture, vision and values. Additionally, she provides direct oversight of daily operations for the human resources and nursing teams.

For more than 25 years, Dr. Hancock has served Cleveland Clinic health system, its patients and communities. Most recently, she was Executive Chief Nursing Officer for the health system and Chief Nursing Officer for main campus, a dual role she held for 9 years. Dr. Hancock is known for her dedication to excellence and professionalism. She provides a strong administrative and clinical atmosphere that promotes staff education, development, and cohesion between all disciplines, professional nursing care and world-class patient care.

Dr. Hancock obtained her DNP from Chamberlain College of Nursing and MSN from the Breen School of Nursing at Ursuline College in Pepper Pike, Ohio. She is a board-certified Nurse Executive through the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a member of the American Organization of Nurse Executives, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, and the Honor Society of Nursing - Sigma Theta Tau International. Dr. Hancock became a member of the Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing in 2019, was awarded Crain’s Cleveland Business’ Notable Women in Healthcare in 2018, the Sones/Folvaro for Excellence in Nursing Collaboration in 2017, Distinguished Alumnae Award from Ursuline College in 2013, the ANCC Circle of Excellence Award in 2012, and the 2010 Maria and Sam Miller Professional Excellence Nurse of the Year Award. She is also a recipient of the “Bruce Hubbard Stewart Fellow Award” and received “The Abbie Porter Leadership Award” in 2002 and 2009, which highlights excellence in nursing leadership.

Professional Involvement

Professional Societies

  • American Association of Colleges of Nurses Diversity and Inclusion, 2019
  • American Heart Association
    • President, Cleveland Board of Directors, 2021 - 2023
    • Go Red for Women, 2014 - Present
    • Executive Leadership Committee, 2018 - Present
    • Cleveland Campaign Chair, American Heart Walk, 2015
    • STEM Goes Red, 2017 - Present
  • American Red Cross
    • Northeast Ohio Board of Directors, 2012 - Present
    • Chair, Volunteer and Mission Capacity Building Committee, 2015 - Present
    • Chair, Service Delivery Committee, 2013 - 2015
  • Ashtabula County Medical Center Board of Directors, Member, 2015 - Present
  • American Nurses Association (ANA), 2014 - Present
  • American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL), 2006 – Present
  • Association of Patient Experience Board of Directors, 2014 - Present
  • American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN), 1997 - Present
  • Cleveland Clinic Celebrate Sisterhood, Honorary Co-chair, 2017
  • Cleveland Wise Women, Member, 2016 - Present
  • Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University, Adjunct Professor, 2015 - 2023
  • Greater Cleveland Organization for Nursing Leadership (GCONL), 2018 - Present
  • In Counsel with Women
    • Member, 2014 - Present
    • Board of Directors, 2020 - Present
  • Leadership Cleveland, Class Member, 2022
  • March of Dimes - Nurse of the Year Award Chair, 2017
  • Ohio Nurses Association (ONA), 2019
  • Press Ganey Nurse Manager Sub Committee, Co-Chair, 2014 - Present
  • Saint Joseph Academy
    • Board of Directors, 2014 - 2021
    • Vice Chair, 2018 - 2021
    • Excellence Committee, 2015 - 2021
  • Sigma Theta Tau International Society of Nursing, Member, 2009 - Present
  • The 50 Club of Cleveland, Member, 2018 - Present
  • United Way Generation Next Member for Greater Cleveland, 2006
  • Ursuline College Breen School of Nursing
    • Community Advisory Board, 2013 - Present
    • Executive Campaign Committee, 2014 - Present
  • VeloSano - Cleveland Campaign Co-chair, 2017 - Present
  • Vizient Large System Nurse Executives Network, 2020

Advisory Boards and Panels

  • American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
    Awards Review Panel and Chapter Awards Review Panel, 2014 - 2015
  • Frances Payne Bolton Chief Nursing Officer Advisory Board, Case Western Reserve University, 2014 - Present
  • Hill-Rom Chief Nurse Executive Advisory Board, 2013 - Present
  • Holy Name Advisory Board, 2012 - 2014
  • Kent State University College of Nursing Advisory Board, 2018 - Present
  • Press Ganey CNO Advisory Council Co-chair, 2013 - 2019

Honors & Awards

  • LinkedIn Top Voices, Frontline Health Care, 2020
  • 50+ Hospital and Health System CNOs to Know, 2019, 2020
  • Crain’s Cleveland Business Notable Woman in Healthcare, 2018
  • Sones/Folvaro for Excellence in Nursing Collaboration, 2017
  • Dedication Award, Cleveland Council of Black Nurses, Inc., 2016
  • Distinguished Nursing Alumnae Award, Ursuline College, 2013
  • Stanley Shalom Endowed Chair for Nursing Advancement, 2012
  • Annual Cleveland Clinic Kelly Hancock Nursing Excellence Awards Endowment, 2012
  • American Association of Critical Care Nurses - Circle of Excellence Award, 2012
  • Maria and Sam Miller Professional Excellence Award - Nurse of the Year, 2010
  • Cleveland Clinic Nursing Excellence Award - Abbie Porter Leadership Award, 2002, 2009
  • Cleveland Clinic Nursing Excellence Award - Marilyn Tetonis Nursing Unit Award, 2001
  • Bruce Hubbard Stewart Fellow Award, 2000