About Arts & Medicine Institute

Toll-Free: 866.320.4573

Call Us Toll Free:

866.223.2273 x1234

Fine art is good medicine.

It comforts, elevates the spirit, and affirms life and hope. Art in the healthcare setting, combined with outstanding care and service, creates an ambience that encourages healing and supports the work of medical professionals.

As one of the world’s great medical centers, Cleveland Clinic has always included the arts in its healing environment. The four founders and subsequent leadership encouraged artistic and musical expression by employees. Distinguished artworks have long hung on the walls. In 1983, an Aesthetics Committee was officially formed at Cleveland Clinic to address issues of art and design in Cleveland Clinic facilities.

Mission

  • To enhance the Cleveland Clinic experience through the arts
  • To practice and investigate the use of the arts in healing
  • To build community around the arts, health and medicine

Primary Focus

  • Patients: To enhance the well-being of patients who come to Cleveland Clinic for care, followed by families, visitors, staff, employees, students and the community.
  • Performance: Support performing arts, as they enhance the medical environment, express ideas and emotions, and offer therapeutic benefits.
  • Research: Initiates and carries out investigations into the effects of art and culture in the medical environment. It measures results to improve quality.
  • Community: Interacting with local, national and international organizations in a positive and mutually beneficial way.

Arts & Medicine Institute Team

1950 Richmond Road/TR-308
Lyndhurst, OH 44124
Phone: 216.448.8330
Fax: 216.448.8335
Arts and Medicine

Iva Fattorini, MD, MSc
Chair
fattori@ccf.org

Maria Jukic, JD
Executive Director
jukicm@ccf.org

Damir Janigro, PhD
Research

Martha Minor
Coordinator
minorm@ccf.org

Gregory Bonanno, MM
Administrative Program Coordinator
bonanng@ccf.org

Genell Tuck
Administrative Program Coordinator
tuckg@ccf.org

Art Program

Joanne Cohen
Executive Director & Curator
cohenj3@ccf.org

Jennifer Finkel, PhD
Curator
finkelj@ccf.org

Bellamy Printz, MFA
Curator
printzb@ccf.org

Kathryn Koran, MAM
Registrar & Assistant Curator
korank@ccf.org

Michael Dickas, MFA
Preparator
michael.dickas@ccf.org

Noel Ward
Preparator
wardn@ccf.org

Art Therapy Program

Tamara Shella, MA, ATR-BC
Art Therapy Program Manager
tashel@ccf.org

Kelly Pecl-Dreamer
Art Therapist
dreamek@ccf.org

Meredith McCulloch, MA, ATR-BC, PC
Art Therapist
mccullm@ccf.org

Music Therapy Program

Lisa Gallagher, MA, MT-BC
Music Therapy Program Manager
gallagl@ccf.org

Debbie Bates, MMT, MT-BC
Music Therapist II
batesd2@ccf.org

Sarah Paczak Chappell, MT-BC
Music Therapist
paczaks@ccf.org

Laura Higgins, MT-BC
Music Therapist
higginl@ccf.org

Christine Young, MT-BC
Music Therapist
youngc6@ccf.org

Patricia Eden, MT-BC
Music Therapist
edenp@ccf.org

Stephanie Morris, MT-BC
Music Therapist
morriss4@ccf.org

Philanthropy Institute (PI)

Karen Wyman
wymank@ccf.org

2013 News Archive

Art Program Executive Director contributes to making Shaker Heights an "arts town"

Joanne Cohen, Executive Director of Arts and Medicine Institute's Art Program, discusses her background in and passion for the arts as she leads the Shaker Life Magazine through the highlights of Cleveland Clinic's art collection.

Cleveland Clinic uses artwork to positively impact the comfort and stress levels of patients

Joanne Cohen, Executive Director of Arts and Medicine Institute's Art Program, discusses the benefit of artwork in the healthcare environment and unique aspects of Cleveland Clinic's collection.

Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health provides art for a healthier brain

Art plays a prominent role at Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health. The facility's architecture was designed world renowned architect, Frank Gehry, the extensive collection of artwork, the development of an art therapy program, and a distance learning program conducted with the Cleveland Museum of Art.

Submit your design for an art installation at Cleveland Clinic's Main Campus

Cleveland Clinic will be participating in the "Play Me, I'm Yours" interactive artwork by British artist Luke Jerram. The artwork consists of decorated pianos that are placed in public spaces for everyone to use. The piano will be on display on the Crile Mall from July 19 - August 12, 2013. If you are interested in submitting a design for the decorated piano or wish to participate in the decorating process, please complete the forms in the piano design guidelines and submit by May 23, 2013. Email ccartprogram@ccf.org for more information or questions.

Cuyahoga County Residents Helped our Arts & Medicine Institute Partner Programs Win a Grant

The Arts & Medicine Institute is participating in a project that was selected through a public voting process to receive a Cuyahoga Arts & Culture Creative Culture Grant. The Daring to be “Dumbo” project led by the Dancing Wheels organization will fund the creation of a film about bullying and social injustice. Cleveland Clinic Arts & Medicine Institute will help by broadcasting the documentary at our facilities.

A program for those with memory loss and their care partners

Kathryn Koran from the Arts and Medicine Institute's Art Program talks about the Art in the Afternoon Program and the artwork in the hospital.

Music therapy helps college professor speak again

Learn how music therapy helped a patient with aphasia.

Cleveland Clinic to Host "Arts and Medicine for India" Symposium, a Collaboration with Kochi-Muziris Biennale

Cleveland Clinic’s Arts and Medicine Institute will host “Arts and Medicine for India,” a symposium to create awareness of the arts and medicine concept, on Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2013, during India’s biennial exhibition of contemporary art – the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2012.

Cleveland Clinic Mobile Site