Distinguished PA Award

In 2007, a small group of PAs organized a PA Night Out and awarded the Director of PA Services with the Distinguished PA Award.

The Distinguished PA Award is given to a PA for outstanding service and dedication towards promoting the ideals of the PA profession. This is a peer recognized award. PA’s recognizing another PA.

Since 2007, PA services has continued this tradition and has awarded a Distinguish PA Award annually at the PA NIGHT OUT event.

The following PAs are recipients of this prestigious award:

Howard Christie

Howard Christie, Respiratory Institute

Jean Metz

Jean Metz, OBGYN, Beachwood

Pat Curtis-McCarthy
2009, 2008

2009 – Mary Hughes, Cardiovascular Medicine (right)

2008 – Pat Curtis-McCarthy, Pulmonary (left)


Josanne Pagel, PA Services Director

Shining Star Awards

Outstanding Physician Assistants of 2012:

Judy Lewis PA-C, PA Manager
Athena Loughrin PA-C, Center for Brain Health
Michelle Murray PA-C, Wooster Cardiology
Mary Bauer PA-C, Internal Medicine
Andrew Proctor PA-C, PA Manager Euclid Hospital
Bridget Mansell PA-C, Orthopedics
Al Mellilo, PA-C, Center for Spine Health

Outstanding PA Department Lorain Institute Pre-Admission Testing

Patricia Hirkala PA-C, PA Manager
Candace Beury PA-C
Maureen Gwynn PA-C
Lisa Hegemier PA-C
Miles Nelson PA-C

Outstanding PA Team

Lynn Pagliaccio PA-C, PA Manager 
Laurie Adkins PA-C
Nicole Critelli PA-C
Misty Garcia PA-C
Angela Parente PA-C
Kinjal Patel PA-C
Pamela Perozeni PA-C
Jennifer Sample PA-C
Paramjit Singh PA-C
Dale Turley PA-C
Elena Zachary PA-C

The Gratitude Award

Brian Bolwell MD
Chairman, Taussig Cancer Center
In special recognition of his enduring support and advocacy of the PA profession.


Outstanding PA Team:
Leonardo Kapural, MD and Jennifer Ferreira, PA-C

Angela Parente, PA-C
Howard Christie, PA-C
John Neff, PA-C
Kathleen Hogan, PA-C
Anita Brumbaugh, PA-C


Joe Kohuth
Dale Turley
John Renkosik
Stephanie Mytrosevich
Deb Kangisser
Diane Szalkowski

Outstanding PA Department:
Bone Marrow Transplant