

May 23, 2012

CLP@dhs.gov

## IMPORTANT UPDATE AUTOMATIC REVALIDATION OF VISAS

The validity of an expired nonimmigrant visa may be considered to be automatically extended to the date of application for readmission at ports of entry. This includes cases where U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services has changed the nonimmigrant classifications of an alien to another nonimmigrant classification. The validity of an expired or unexpired nonimmigrant visa may be considered to be automatically extended to the date of readmission and the visa may be converted as necessary to that changed classification. [22.C.F.R. 41.112(d)]

Visitors (and accompanying spouses and / or children) whose visas have expired may be boarded provided they meet the following requirements:

## F and J nonimmigrants:

- Readmission from contiguous territory or adjacent islands (except Cuba)
- Readmission after an absence not exceeding 30 days
- In possession of Form I-94 endorsed to show an unexpired period of initial admission or extension of stay or in possession of the Certificate of Eligibility Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) I-20AB or SEVIS DS-2029
- In possession of a valid passport, unless exempt
- Does not require authorization for admission under the INA 212(d)(3)
- Has not applied for a new visa while abroad
- Has maintained and intends to resume nonimmigrant status

## All other nonimmigrants: H-1B

- Readmission from contiguous territory
- Readmission after an absence not exceeding 30 days
- In possession of Form I-94 endorsed to show an unexpired period of initial admission or extension of stay
- M-1student must also present a properly endorsed SEVIS Form I-20MN
- In possession of a valid passport, unless exempt
- Does not require authorization for admission under the INA 212(d)(3)
- Has not applied for a new visa while abroad
- Has maintained and intends to resume nonimmigrant status

The provisions of the automatic revalidation of visas does not apply to citizens of countries identified as supporting terrorism in the State Department's annual report to Congress. Countries that are ineligible are Iran, Syria, Sudan and Cuba.

The information on this bulletin supersedes page 18 inside the revised May 2011 Carrier Information Guide.